(Not) Catching the Wave

5 Aug

Crashing WaveI really do understand Google Wave. Sort of. A little. Not really.

I read testimonials from Chris Brogan and others. I read Jeff Jarvis’s post on how Google Wave could change collaboration and writing for journalists.  I looked at Gina Trapani’s The Complete Guide to Google Wave.

But Google Wave was one of those tools that you couldn’t “get” without using it. And that was the problem. I never had a reason to use it. I would have loved to try it for projects at work. But not everyone that I work with has a Google account or wants one. That alone made an impractical product for that purpose.

I wager that it’s folks like me who lead Google to the decision not to continue developing Wave.

I think that real-time collaboration products are so useful. And maybe if Wave had been developed further, it might have been a real competitor for SharePoint or Basecamp.

Google Wave, I wish that I had gotten to know you better. I think that we could have become friends. I think that we could have done great things together. But I never found a reason to meet you.

Photo credit: Clearly Ambiguous

2 Responses to “(Not) Catching the Wave”

  1. Trapper Markelz September 1, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    I think Google Wave would have worked better as some sort of feature upgrade to gmail. Everyone I interact with lives in Gmail… so if you want people to communicate or have some real time hybrid of email and IM than Gmail would be the best place to host that.

    • Mollie Nothnagel September 1, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

      I hadn’t thought of it that way, but that’s a great point. Gmail seems to be getting lots of attention from their developers lately and maybe we’ll see some Wave-esque features in a future Gmail release.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

